Each University of Nebraska campus is accredited by:

The Higher Learning Commission


All University of Nebraska online programs are offered by the four campuses of the University of Nebraska system.

Each campus is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a regional accrediting body.

The HLC is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. Each regional accrediting body also recognizes each other's accreditation, creating a national accreditation system.

You may search for University of Nebraska campuses as accredited institutions on the HLC website or by contacting the HLC at 800.621.7440.

What Does Accreditation Mean?

  •  Ease of credit transfer
  • Quality standards
  • Increased student performance
  • Enhanced learning for students

Accreditation sets common, minimum standards which all accredited schools follow. It is a significant term for students to understand when considering their education.

To be accredited, a school must meet very stringent standards in the areas of curriculum, staffing, instruction, and the awarding of credit hours. These standards ensure a high level of quality in the education a student will receive from that institution.

All approved accrediting agencies will recognize each other's accreditation. This means that credit received from one accredited school will be accepted universally by other accredited schools, allowing schools to easily transfer credit between themselves.

Special Accreditation

Many of our programs also carry prestigious accreditation specific to their discipline in addition to the Higher Learning Commission accreditation. For more information about special accreditation of a program of interest, please see the Overview tab of that program.